College of Agriculture & Natural Resources
Nutrition & Food Science

Awards & Honors

Faculty Awards and Honors 

Dr. Nadine Sahyoun and Dr.Edwina Wambogo were awarded licenses to analyze the Gallup World Poll

Through a competitive application process, Dr. Nadine Sahyoun and her doctoral student Edwina Wambogo were awarded one of 8 licenses to analyze the Gallup World Poll (GWP) dataset which includes a rich set of data on economic, social and health variables from 140 countries. In 2014, GWP, in conjunction with the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization added questions to assess individual food security status. Dr. Sahyoun and Ms. Wambogo will be examining the relationship between food security and indicators of health and well-being among individuals in 36 sub-Saharan African countries, particularly among older adults in those countries.

Dr. Abani Pradhan awarded was selected to receive a prestigious award from the Society for Risk Analysis 

Dr. Abani Pradhan has been selected to receive a prestigious award from the Society for Risk Analysis (SRA). He will be receiving the 2015 Chauncey Starr Distinguished Young Risk Analyst Award during SRA annual meeting in December, 2015.

Dr. Meng received AGNR’s “The Dean Gordon Cairns Award”

Dr. Jianghong Meng received “The Dean Gordon Cairns Award for Distinguished Creative Work and Teaching in Agriculture” during the 2013 College of Agriculture and Natural Resources (AGNR) convocation and Awards Ceremony held at University of Maryland’s Riggs Alumni Center on May 8, 2013. Dr. Meng is an internationally renowned expert in microbial food safety and a dynamic, highly-regarded faculty member. He has conducted innovative and cutting-edge research to address major issues in microbial food safety and other areas that impact public health.

Dr. Sahyoun received AGNR Alumni Association’s “Excellence in Research Award”


Dr. Nadine Sahyoun received the 2013 AGNR Alumni Chapter’s “Excellence in Research Award” during an awards banquet held at University of Maryland’s Riggs Alumni Center on April 16, 2013. Dr. Sahyoun’s expertise is in the field of nutrition epidemiology and aging. The goal of her research is to improve the quality of life for older adults and in the process, decrease health expenditures.

 Drs. Buchanan, Pradhan, and Yu were among honored faculty at the 6th Annual University-Wide Celebration of Scholarship and Research

Drs. Robert L. Buchanan, Abani Pradhan, and Liangli (Lucy) Yu were among the honored faculty recognized at the 6th Annual University-Wide Celebration of Scholarship and Research held at the Art-Sociology Building Atrium on May 1, 2013, for their scholarly and research accomplishments in the past year. To illustrate the breadth of what the faculty accomplished, the Division of Research at UMD organized this event to highlight accomplishments such as, best paper awards, prestigious prizes, election to academic societies, major research or education grants or awards, etc.

Student Awards and Recognitions

Ann Nguyen a Feeding Tomorrow Scholarship from the foundation of the IFT2015

Ann Nguyen in Nutrition and Food Science Department received a Feeding Tomorrow Scholarship from the foundation of the Institute of Food Technologists. This year, Feeding Tomorrow received a record number of scholarship applications making the application process more competitive than ever.


IFT International Poster Competition

Melody Ge (2nd from the left) won the first place at IFT product development paper competition. Yuting Zhou (not pictured) won the third place award at the International Food Nanoscience Conference poster competition.


Courtney Calo, a Senior dietetic student and future intern with a GPA of 3.94, was recognized for achieving high academic excellence (AGNR, 2013).

2013 Distinguished TA Award from the Center for Teaching Excellence

  • Saira Khan
  • Caroline Rocourt
  • Yunpeng Wu


Hao Pang, a graduate student in our Department working with Dr. Abani Pradhan, received the Student Merit Award from the Microbial Risk Analysis Specialty Group (MRASG) at the 2012 Annual Meeting of the Society for Risk Analysis (SRA) held on December 9-12, 2012, in San Francisco, California. In addition to this merit award, he received a Student Travel Award from SRA to attend this meeting.

Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Fellowship (2013-2014 Academic Year; one semester award)

  • Magaly Toro
  • Zhenlei Xiao


Noelia Williams is one of the 2013 Student Travel Scholarship Recipients of the International Association for Food Protection (IAFP). The award was presented during IAFP’s annual meeting on July 28-31 in Charolette, North Carolina.  Noelia is currently working on her PhD with Dr. Robert Buchanan.

Juice Products Association (JPA) Scholarship (2013-2014 Academic Year)

  • Veronica Son



Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2020. Web Accessibility